This is American Black Journal’s 50th anniversary, and that is something for the entire Detroit community to celebrate. Born on Detroit Public TV after the civil disturbance of 1967, it remains a reliable, respectful forum for thought, culture and politics from an African-American perspective. It stands as the longest running public affairs program dedicated to the African-American experience on any public broadcasting station and the longest running public affairs show on any local television station. To honor this milestone, Detroit Public TV hosted a special celebration featuring Christy Coleman, CEO of the American Civil War Museum in Richmond, Virginia, in conversation with American Black Journal’s Pulitzer Prize-winning host, Stephen Henderson.

The night looked back at American Black Journal’s legacy and looked ahead at Detroit’s future, as well as music, dance and spoken word performances. Thank you for joining us to give American Black Journal the tribute it deserves and help assure it can serve our community for at least another 50 years. Thanks in part to our presenting sponsor, Masco. Aired on Detroit Public TV March 6, 2019.


Featured guests:

Trudy Gallant-Stokes, Former host/producer
Lavonia Perryman Fairfax, Former host
Juanita Anderson, Former executive producer
Misha Stallworth, Detroit School Board member
Kelvin Boston, Financial journalist and frequent guest
Satori Shakoor, Storyteller
YANCYY, Saxophonist
Anita Dumar, Violinist/Sphinx alumna
Rev. Dr. Jim Holley, Pastor and frequent guest
Dave Bing, Former Detroit mayor
Tony Mottley, Former producer
Jeannie Lyles, Vocalist
Rev. Dr. Wendell Anthony, Former guest host

<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><script><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->!function(e,t,n,s,u,a){e.twq||(s=e.twq=function(){s.exe?s.exe.apply(s,arguments):s.queue.push(arguments);<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->},s.version='1.1',s.queue=[],u=t.createElement(n),u.async=!0,u.src='//',<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->a=t.getElementsByTagName(n)[0],a.parentNode.insertBefore(u,a))}(window,document,'script');<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->// Insert Twitter Pixel ID and Standard Event data below<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->twq('init','o177d');<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->twq('track','PageView');<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --></script>

Host Committee

Geaneen Arends, Co-Chair | Butzel Long
Larry Alexander | Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau
Lynette Dowler | DTE Energy Foundation
Sandy Baruah | Detroit Regional Chamber
Ed Egnatios | W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Warren Evans | Wayne County
Aaron Foley | City of Detroit
Linda and Rod Gillum | Oakland University
Kelly Greene | Morgan Stanley
Michelle Greene | MASCO
Peggie Hollingsworth | U of M, retired
Rich Homberg | Detroit Public TV
Arthur Horwitz | The Detroit Jewish News
Jacqueline Howard | Ally Financial
Daphne Hughes | ABJ Producer
Eunice Jeffries | Beaumont Health
Luther Keith| ARISE Detroit!
Carol Klein | DPTV Board of Trustees
Hannan Lis | The WW Group
Kirk Mayes | Forgotten Harvest
Reuben Munday | Lewis & Munday
Faye Nelson | W.K. Kellogg Foundation
George N’Namdi | N’Namdi Center for Contemporary Art
Roy Sexton | Clark Hill PLC
Gerald Smith | G.W. Smith & Associates
Shirley Stancato | New Detroit
Kevin Sweeney | First Independence Bank
Alexis Wiley | City of Detroit